Route 66 Day 17: Joshua Tree National Park

As we were climbing up Ryan Mountain (named after some other, less important Ryan no doubt) Liv pointed to this rock from hundreds of feet above it and said, “I’m going to climb on top of that when we get down.”

She beat me to the bottom and by the time I got down I forgot she said that. I waited by the car for a little while then walked around to look for her. I had no idea where she went and wondered if she took a wrong turn coming down. But then I heard a familiar whistle coming from the top of this giant rock. A whistle we used on the AT if we couldn’t find each other. I whistled back, she whistled again, so I could hone in on where she was. I looked up and saw this. She’s a woman of her word.

03-17-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-17-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-17-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-17-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-17-12: Skull Rock
03-17-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-17-12: Ol' Carla Green03-20-12: Cholla Gardens03-20-12: Joshua Tree National Park03-20-12: Climbing Ryan Mountain03-20-12: Ryan Mountain
03-20-12: Liv at the Ryan Mountain Summit

Creative Commons License
A Backpacker’s Life List by Ryan Grayson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.   
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment